A little rain

 

 
riverbank flood 050409
 

It’s that time of year again. Well, it’s always that time of year with our river, but even more so during the spring. It hasn’t been raining very hard, just a near constant drizzle for the past several days. It doesn’t take much though.

A few weeks ago I did a post where I explored the riverbank in my backyard. Here is a pic from that post showing a view of the riverbank.

riverbank 1

 

In my exploring post I showed a picture of the old abandoned bridge at the end of the street. Here is a pic showing the bridge from below:

riverbank 46

 

I’ve been taking some pictures of the bridge for a post I’ll do sometime later (probably much later now). Here is a photo from a little over 2 weeks ago from the side:

abandoned bridge side 041809

 

This is from the side today:

abandoned bridge side flood 050409

 

And a partial view from the front 2 weeks ago:

abandoned bridge front 041909

 

And from the front today:

 
abandoned bridge front flood 050409
 

It could be worse. (And may yet be worse since the river isn’t supposed to crest until tonight). About 11 months ago it was over the bridge and into the street. That is when the side of the bridge washed away.

Bless you Mother Nature!

2 Responses to A little rain

  1. holy beautiful!! Penny, that bridge is beautiful and magical…i love the way you captured it in your picture. it’s almost like the decay of the bridge is more beautiful than it standing.

    more pictures!!! :K)

    (p.s. Mr Black says he used to live in the woods of Everaland. I think he’s full of sh*t.)

  2. missnightowl says:

    Thanks! I am hoping that we didn’t lose more of the bridge in this flood. It doesn’t look like it so far, but the river went back up a little so I’ll have to wait and see.

    I’ll probably mention it again when I do a bridge post but see that rusty pipe in the 4th photo down? Yeah, the pipe that runs along near the top of the bridge. We used to walk across that when we were kids. Without parental supervision of course. It doesn’t look like much of a drop in that pic, but look at the photo right above it. I’m pretty sure that I’m never doing THAT again.

    Oh, and I don’t think I could say that Mr. Black is full of shit. At least not where he could hear me. (Better watch out!)

Leave a comment