Tiny Festival

 

funnel cake

Today was the official start of Tiny Town’s annual festival. We have a carnival all week, but the main activities happen from tonight through Saturday night. It is tradition for Mother Nature to help celebrate by drenching the festival at least half the week. Every single year. Last year we got a flood. Thankfully, we’ve already gotten that out of the way this spring.

I have a booth reserved to sell my jewelry and suncatchers and intended to start selling today. After about half a dozen trips carrying everything, I discovered that the (festival committee provided) booth leaked. Right across the middle. Since most of my displays have a cardboard base, I decided to wait until tomorrow to start selling. Everyone says it’s not supposed to rain tomorrow. Yeah right.

Since Tiny Town has few choices for food, both sold in the grocery store and served in the restaurant, one of the things I look forward to the most during the festival (or all year) is the variety of food sold (at a ridiculously high price). I’ve had sweet ‘n sour chicken twice this week. Awesome. Especially since there are no Chinese restaurants near here and it has been about 3 years since I’ve been to a Chinese restaurant. Today was hot dogs and nachos (because of the rain there wasn’t much open by the time the booth fiasco was finished). Tonight is dessert night. Yummy, very bad-for-you festival treats.

Above is dad’s selection – funnel cake. For those who haven’t had a funnel cake, it’s basically fried dough with powdered sugar sprinkled (or dumped) on top. You can also add strawberries, apples, or (I forget the 3rd choice), but I like to keep it simple.

Below is my choice – elephant ear. For those who haven’t had an elephant ear, it’s basically fried dough with cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top.

elephant ear

 

Those are 9 inch plates. Yum.

Each year I look for something new to try. Last year it was a deep fried twinkie (meh), another year it was cheesecake on a stick (I thought it was going to be something besides just a chunk of cheesecake on a popsicle stick).

I’m looking forward to finding something new this year, in addition to my usuals – barbecue, bloomin’ onion, fried bologna sandwich, taco in a bag, long cheesy curly shoestring fries.

I’m also looking forward to no more rain this week.

10 Responses to Tiny Festival

  1. Tuli says:

    Oh yum yumyumyumyum yummy. I love elephant ears! We have festivals here in the summer and a couple of them serve elephant ears.

    I could eat them until I blow chunks.

    Sorry. You probably didn’t need that visual.

    • missnightowl says:

      I just finished it so I can understand the blowing chunks part. Only because I’m very, very full, not because it wasn’t good. Tomorrow night I’m looking for the something new and Saturday night may be a funnel cake. I’ll probably need my gall bladder removed by Sunday.

  2. PAPA says:

    funnel cakes are delish! damn, the rain! the festival sounds fun, though!

    • missnightowl says:

      It ALWAYS rains during the festival. I don’t think it has never NOT rained. It was somewhat fun, though Saturday was not a great as I though it would be. But it’s done for another year.

  3. Twinkie says:

    you didn’t like the deep fried TWINKIE??? Oh how sad that makes me! LOL

    • missnightowl says:

      Well, it’s not so much that I didn’t like it, and it’s mostly because I’m not much of a Twinkie fan. Sorry! I’m a vanilla or raspberry zinger person. Now I’m craving a raspberry zinger!

  4. I never get funnel cakes anymore because they never have the fruit, only the powdered sugar. For me, it just isn’t the same without the strawberries. 🙂

  5. That’s what I thought, too. I thought it was a Southern thing (the lack of fruit, I mean), but you say you are in a Southern-ish state. So now I can’t even use that excuse. 🙂

Leave a Reply

